My Jewish Cooking

My Jewish Cooking

As a “new” Jew, I spend a lot of time making my home into what I think is a “Good Jewish Home”. One way I do that is through cooking. I already make a mean Challah and some great homemade blintzes. I gave hummus a whirl the other day, mostly because I wanted to use our new Ninja blender. The good news is, it turned out pretty well. Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a whirl:

Ingredients:
15 oz can of chickpeas, drained
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup tahini
1/2 a garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 to 1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin ( I used chili powder)
2 to 3 tablespoons of water

Directions:
put in the lemon juice and tahini in first, blend for about one minute, scrape the sides then blend for another thirty seconds. Then add olive oil, garlic, cumin and salt. Blend for one minute then scrape sides and blend for another 30 seconds. Add half of the chickpeas. blend for one minute. Scrape the sides and add the rest of the chickpeas. blend. If the hummus is too thick, slowly add the water until you get the desired consistency. Put the hummus into a serving dish and top with a dash of paprika and a drizzle of hummus.

Hummus will be good for about a week stored in an airtight container and refrigerated.

Enjoy!

Image

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. laurenbgammon
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 23:12:25

    I am SO gonna try this baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

